Teacher Development Studies (TDS)

Post-graduate programmes in TDS aims to develop students’ ability to engage with theories, debates, policies, practices and research in the field of teacher education and professional development at all sites of education, including school, FET and higher education.

Post-graduate programmes on offer in 2014

Bachelor of Education Honours (BEd (H)), with modules in:

  • Understanding teacher education and professional development
  • Mentoring in Schools
  • Personal and Professional Identities
  • Teachers and Curriculum
  • Independent research on teacher education and professional development

Masters in Education (MEd), offered either as coursework – dissertation or dissertation only

The coursework masters programme offers modules on:

  • Conceptualising Teacher development
  • Researching Teacher Development
  • Research proposal writing
  • Research on school and higher education focusing on teaching, learning, context and teacher development
  • Generic modules on research and methodology

The full dissertation programme offers monthly cohort research support in developing your research proposal, research design, data analysis and research writing.  Research focus are wide ranging but related to school and higher education and on teaching, learning, context, policy and staff development related to education

Doctoral programmes (PhD)

A full doctoral thesis programme  with six weekend cohort seminars per year to provide critical feedback and leading lectures to support students in developing your research proposal, research design, data analysis and research writing.  Research focus are wide ranging but related to school and higher education and on teaching, learning, context, policy and staff development related to education


The Teacher Development Studies discipline is staffed by ten academics, of whom five are based on the Pietermaritzburg campus, and five on the Edgewood campus.

PMB staff Email Edgewood staff Email
Dr Carol Bertram BertramC@ukzn.ac.za Dr Daisy Pillay pillaygv@ukzn.ac.za
Dr Thabile Mbatha Mbathath@ukzn.ac.za Dr Kathleen Pithouse-Morgan pithousemorgan@ukzn.ac.za
Dr Nonhlanhla Mthiyane mthiyaneN@ukzn.ac.za Prof Labby Ramrathan ramrathanp@ukzn.ac.za
Dr Tabitha Mukeredzi mukeredzt@ukzn.ac.za Dr Marinda Swart Swartm1@ukzn.ac.za
Dr Jacqui Naidoo naidooj@ukzn.ac.za Prof Michael Samuel Samuelm@ukzn.ac.za

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved